Foxes have holes….اللائذ

Duhok-Domiz 161
Syrian children posing in a makeshift camp (photo from rescue.org)

Disclaimer(z): the title is a reference to Scripture, not a certain news channel.
And no, I do not speak or write Arabic. The word اللائذ – pronounced Allaúz – means refugee, or one who seeks shelter.

A lot has been written, said, opined as to what the U.S. ought to do with the Syrian refugee crisis.  Sadly and regrettably, the issue has become politicized the the point where you are either for or against the refugees entering American soil – or at least within the boundaries of your state.

I cannot speak to the political or national-security issues related to this crisis but in my devotionals this morning, I came across this poem which I feel is a most timely and relevant word for us:

I followed where they led,
and in a hovel rude,
with naught to fence the weather from his head
the King I sought for meekly stood;
A naked hungry child
clung round his gracious knee,
and a poor hunted slave looked up and smiled
to bless the smile that set him free;
new miracles I saw his presence do,
no more I knew the hovel bare and poor,
the gathered chips into a woodpile grew
the broken morsel swelled to goodly store.
I knelt and wept: my Christ no more I seek.
His throne is with the outcast and the weak.

His Throne is with the Outcast by James Russell Lowe

So much more I want to say on this but the prudent choice is to keep my mouth shut.  For now.  But I must say that I find the poem above speaks to my soul.  Does it speak to yours?

Leave a Reply

