How to Pray for 日本

Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I

in “praying for japan” do not omit the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. He is the center, the 中心

 

This morning, I read the heroic tale of a British school teacher saving 42 of his high school students from recent tsunami.  You can read the story here.

 

Robert Bailey, 27, told how he was "terrified" but had a duty to keep the teenagers safe. He had just eight minutes to get the class of 42 students to safety.

The first sentence captivated me,

A British teacher has been dubbed a hero after he led his students to higher ground just moments before their school was obliterated by a tsunami in Japan.

Did you catch that?  Robert Bailey led his students to higher ground to save them from the tsunami.

In that earth-shattering moment, entire villages were wiped out.

  • Gorgeous villas with oceanfront views,
  • the latest shiniest fastest sports cars,
  • the most arable fertile plots of land

—>all came to naught at the merciless tides of waves and fury.

As I read this article, various Scriptures began to dart in and out of my mind.  I felt God moving me to sincere prayer for  not only the people of Japan but for my community of faith as well.

Prayers for the people of God

Are we building our house, our lives, upon the rock of Jesus Christ?

Since many of us grew up singing “Father Abraham” are we truly spiritual heirs to the faith that compelled him to relentlessly pursue, and trust in, God?

But remember also the Japanese people.

Right now, destruction and turmoil has covered their land; may the Glory of the Lord bring that nation to her knees.

Pray that more Robert Baileys may rise up and lead the beautiful Japanese people to the rock that is higher than they.

1 Hear my cry, O God;

listen to my prayer.

2 From the ends of the earth I call to you,
I call as my heart grows faint;
lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
3 For you have been my refuge,
a strong tower against the foe.

 

Leave a Reply

